.cat-links { display: none !important; }

Maple Elementary’s Kayla Kuepper awarded ACSC teacher of the year: ‘I’m beyond grateful’

By Lindsay Doty

This week, Maple Elementary teacher Kayla Kuepper headed back to the classroom to start an unprecedented school year accompanied by mask mandates and pandemic protocols. Despite the challenges ahead, she brings the same commitment to education and teamwork as always.

“As Helen Keller once said, ‘Alone we can do little but together we can do so much.’ Together we are Avon Strong!” said Kuepper, an instructional coach with the Avon Community School Corporation.

She was recently named ACSC’s Andy Mohr Teacher of the Year. Kuepper was selected for the award by a committee comprised of local community members.

Maple Elementary Instructional Coach Kayla Kuepper (center) was given the Avon Community School Corporation’s Andy Mohr Teacher of the Year award at an annual back to school celebration. Kuepper is pictured with Andy Mohr (left) (Founder, Andy Mohr Automotive Group) and Greg Dana (right) (ACSC Board member). (Submitted photo)

“While it is a huge honor to be selected for such a prestigious award I truly believe that every teacher should receive this award this year,” she said.

“I have watched numerous people all across our district work relentlessly during these unprecedented times to provide the most optimal learning experience possible for the students in our community.”

Kuepper started her teaching career in 2011 and came to the Avon district in 2013 but always had a desire to teach. As a little girl, she played pretend ‘school’ with her sister.

Today, Kuepper is the co-founder of the traveling teachers program, part of the ACSC technology implementation and planning team and has been a technology committee leader. Kuepper is a founding member of the Mary Lee Maier Community Pantry and initiated the Latino Literacy program that provides an opportunity for bilingual families to develop a love of reading together.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *