.cat-links { display: none !important; }
Indianapolis firefighters recognized for contributions

Indianapolis firefighters recognized for contributions

After a year of moments filled with both hope and tragedy, the Indianapolis Fire Department honored their own recently for exemplary performance during 2018. Held at the Indiana Roof Ballroom, over 100 awards were given to IFD firefighters and citizens of Indianapolis. Speakers included the honorable Mayor Joe Hogsett, IFD Chief Ernest Malone, Brigadier General J. Stewart Goodwin and Retired Chief, Editor of Fire Engineering magazine, Bobby Halton.  We are privileged to say this is our 160th anniversary of service to the citizens of Indianapolis.

Recipients were praised for their work during incidents that occurred in 2018.  Ninety-two firefighters and 14 civilians were recognized for their outstanding contributions on an incident or for their role in the community.  This recognition included the presentation of the Public Safety Service Award by Chief Ernest Malone given to City County Councilor Marilyn Pfisterer and posthumously to Mary Moriarty Adams for their many years of contributions to the IFD.  Mary’s award was accepted by her godson and nephew, Tim Moriarty.

Retired IFD firefighter Bill Alfke was presented with the Public Safety Service Award for his tireless work with the IFD/Arsenal Technical High School fire rescue program.

IFD officers and citizens were recently recognized with achievement awards. (Submitted photo)

Highlights from the evening included reuniting several citizens with the person(s) that saved their lives, such as Amie Franzetti, whose life was saved by co-worker Brittany Harmon and firefighter Damon Fine, whose life was saved by Owen County dispatchers Tina Booe, Robin Bean and DNR Officers Lt. Ken Hutchins and Officer Patrick Labhart.

IFD Chief Ernest Malone was given the prestigious Fire Department Instructors Conference (FDIC) Service Award, presented by the editor of Fire Engineering Magazine/FDIC International/PennWell Fire Group, retired Chief Robert Halton.

Citizens honored by IFD included Ben Johnson, Sherrie and Robert Lane, Sherry Manzelli, Brittany Harmon, Scott Filchak, Meroune Baoch, Jennifer Potter, Robin Bean, Tina Booe, Lt. Ken Hutchins and Officer Patrick Labhart.

Chosen by their peers, the winners of the 2018 IFD Peer Leadership are A Shift: Engineer Miguel Udan; B Shift: Engineer Jason Smith  and C Shift: Lieutenant John Lamar.

The 2018 Year in Review Video/Slideshow, the 2018 Retirees Video and 2018 Tribute to IFD Deaths may be viewed at youtube.com/channel/UC-YyGQFP1QFY_1PNTmRuqbw.

The IFD Recognition Ceremony is funded by donations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *