.cat-links { display: none !important; }

Commissioners’ and county council seats up for grabs as candidate filing ends today

Staff report

Today (Feb. 7) was the deadline for those seeking public office run in the primary election in May.

After the noon deadline Republicans running for the District 2 County Commissioners’ seat, which is being vacated by Matt Whetstone, are: Dana L. Carter, Brownsburg; David H. (Dave) Cox, Avon; Dennis Dawes, Brownsburg; David Emery, Brownsburg; and Daniel J. Smith, Pittsboro;

The County Council District 3 At-Large seat will also be contested. There, incumbent Larry R. Hesson, Plainfield, is running against, Glenn Adams, Brownsburg; Troy Austin, Brownsburg, Kendall Hendricks, Brownsburg, David F.  (Dave) Jackson, Avon; Michael (Mike) Neal, Brownsburg; James Reynolds, Plainfield; and David L. Wyeth, North Salem.

Democrats will have a three-person race for the District 3 At-Large seat. They are Marty Reid, Avon; James R. Rowings, Pittsboro; and Cheryl Teague-McClendon, Indianapolis.

Hendricks County Clerk Debbie Hoskins said outside of the fact that each Republication candidate’s – for County Commissioner – first name begins with the letter “D”, it was business as unusual. She said that when an incumbent leaves office, “people just kind of come out of the woodwork.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *